banner

banner

Saturday, June 27, 2015

Once Upon a Cowboy Review & Giveaway




Once Upon a Cowboy
Whisper Creek # 1
By: Maggie McGinnis  
Releasing June 30, 2015
Loveswept


Blurb
In this sexy Whisper Creek romance for readers of Kristan Higgins, Susan Mallery, and Molly O’Keefe, a red-hot cowboy uses some Montana magic to give a reclusive beauty her happily ever after.

Yoga instructor Jessalyn Alcott radiates peace, calm, and serenity—on the outside. Inside, she still feels like the broken, desperate girl from the trailer park. She’s got dark secrets she can’t share, which is why she never lets her relationships go beyond the third date. But when she travels to the Whisper Creek dude ranch for a friend’s wedding, Jess is enchanted by a cowboy whose deep blue eyes, dimpled smile, and rock-hard body make it tough to remember why she keeps running scared.

Cole Driscoll has struggled to find his place on a family ranch where he’s always played second fiddle. His future might be uncertain, but he’s sure of one thing: He wants Jess by his side. Easier said than done. When it comes to getting close, she’s full of excuses, and he longs to fix the hurt he sees in her eyes. Now that she’s at Whisper Creek, there’s nothing he wants more than to break down the walls around her heart and heal her pain with the power of love.

Link to Follow Tour:  http://www.tastybooktours.com/2015/03/once-upon-cowboywhisper-creek-3-by.html

My Review
A wonderful Cowboy book. This is Jess' and Cole's story.

Jessalyn Alcott (aka Star) was just getting ready to leave for Whisper Creek to attend her friends wedding when she got a note in the mail that she had inherited some money. Not wanting to go back to her past she tried to forget about it. Jess grew up in a broken home her mother and Aunt were very abusive to her as well as her mother's array of men that came and went. Trying to get on with her life as a yoga instructor and new name was coming back to haunt her. Though she truly did love Whisper Creek her friends and the horses she knew that she could never make this her home. Cole a handsome cowboy had his own struggles of where to fit in. He always wanted to go to medical school but never made it. Could this be his chance to go after his dream. Although both Cole and Jess had a past Cole still had strong feeling for Jess.. Just when Cole thinks he is making progress with Jess she quickly slows things up. Not wanting to reveal the whole truth to Cole and her friends Jess gets quiet scared. She doesn't want to lose their friendship. Can Jess overcome the hurt she endured as a child? Will Cole leave the ranch and pursue medical school? be sure to check out this book in the Whisper Creek series. You wont be disappointed.


Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23395415-once-upon-a-cowboy?ac=1

Goodreads Series Link: https://www.goodreads.com/series/145426-whisper-creek


Buy Links:  Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo | Publisher
                                           


Author Info
Maggie McGinnis, USA Today Bestselling Author of Accidental Cowgirl and Driving Without a License, which was a finalist for Romance Writers of America’s Golden Heart Award is a former high school English teacher, an accomplished musician, and a certified black belt, who lives in New England with her family.

Author Links: Website Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Excerpt 1
JULY 25, THIRTEEN YEARS AGO

She’d always imagined a gun would make a louder sound, especially on a sticky summer night with only the crickets as competition. But it was more of a pop—like a kids’ toy rather than a lethal weapon—as Billy aimed it at the cashier and pulled the trigger.

Wait in the car, he’d said. I’m gonna get Old Man Mack to sell me some beer.

So she’d sat in the passenger seat, eyes glued on the store’s plate glass front window, figuring the worst he was going to do was pull his charming I-forgot-my-ID act.

Her hand went to her mouth as Mack grabbed his own chest, spun, and then fell behind the counter. She felt blindly for the car door handle as she watched Billy scoop bills from the cash drawer, but she couldn’t get out fast enough. She heard a strangled sound that must have come from her as he came flying out of the store carrying a case of Bud and the money.

He wrenched open the driver’s door and tossed the case toward her, then gunned the engine before he had his door fully closed. Gravel spit out behind them as he swung onto the pavement and shot the car toward downtown, and she couldn’t seem to take a whole breath as she watched the rearview mirror.

“That was Mack.” Her voice came out in a whisper. “You just shot . . . Mack.”

“You know him?” Billy looked over at her, then grabbed her knee. Hard. “Mack shoulda let me have the beer, princess.”

He squeezed harder, making her wince. “You didn’t see nothing, you got that?”

“God, Billy. We need to call the police. He needs an ambulance.” She didn’t dare crane her neck to look out the back window, but couldn’t get the sight of Mack crumpling behind the counter out of her head.

Billy let out a short, maniacal laugh that made her cringe. “People need to learn who’s in charge around here, princess. Sometimes you gotta teach hard lessons, you know?”

Oh, she knew, all right. Mack wasn’t the only one Billy was trying to teach lately. She felt for the door handle again, but the speedometer was holding steady at forty. Leave it to Billy to shoot a guy cold, then obey the speed limit all the way back to his apartment. She dug her fingernails into her palm, desperate to be out of this car—desperate to be as far away from Billy as possible.

She’d had her breakup speech memorized for three weeks now, but still hadn’t had the courage to deliver it. And now? She shivered, scared to her very core. If Billy’d shoot Mack over a case of beer, what would he do to her if she tried to cut him loose?

“We can’t just leave him there, Billy. What if he—dies?” Her voice cracked as she pictured Mack handing her a piece of bubble gum every Saturday when Grampy used to bring her in for a root beer and a scratch ticket.

“Who we gonna call, princess? The po-lice?” He drew out the word like it amused him. Billy looked over at her again, and she shrank toward the door. “We need to have a little talk about this?”

“No.” Their last little talk had left her with a bag of frozen peas on her ribs and a headache that didn’t go away for a week. She took a catchy breath. “No little talk.”

“Good.” He nodded, pointing toward the case on her lap. “Crack me one of those brews, wouldja? I think I earned it.”

GIVEAWAY


1 comment:

Tasty Book Tours said...

Thank you for hosting ONCE UPON A COWBOY!